Driver's Education Program

Gordon County Schools Transportation Department is proud to offer a Georgia Department of Transportation approved Driver's Education program for high school students. Students participating in this program will have the opportunity to gain knowledge and experience in behind-the-wheel instruction and prepare them for life on the road as a responsible driver. The GCS Driver's Education Program is available for any student that has their learner’s permit, regardless of the school they attend.

Following Joshua's Law, all 16 and 17-year olds are required to complete a certified driver education course before they can obtain their license or wait until the age of 18 to receive your license. 

In order for students to complete the Driver's Education Program, each student must complete 30 hours of classroom instruction and 6 hours of driving time. All class curriculum and tests are conducted utilizing AAA How to Drive 15th Edition.

Our program is certified through Georgia Department of Driver Services (DDS). Our DDS program certification numbers are:

DT# 480 (Gordon Central High)

DT# 481 (Sonoraville High).

Program Application

To apply for the Driver's Education Program, please print and complete the form below. Once completed, please submit the application online or in person using the addresses below.

Online Program Application can be found: HERE

Printable Program Application: Printable Program Application

Email Address to Submit Completed Printed Form:

Location to Submit Completed Printed Form: Gordon County Schools Transportation Office
Address: 1300 Dews Pond Rd., Calhoun, Ga., 30701

Program Schedule

Students participating in the program are required to be at every class for the entire duration in order to receive credit.

January 2023

Location: Sonoraville High School
Dates: January 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19
Time: 4:00 PM - 8:00 PM

April 2023

Location: Gordon Central High School
Dates: April 10, 11, 12, 13, 14 & 12, 18, 19, 20, 21
Time: 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

June 2023

Location: Sonoraville High School
Dates: June 12, 13, 14, 15, 16
Time: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

July 2023

Location: Gordon Central High School
Dates: July 10, 11, 12, 13, 14
Time: 8:00 AM - 3:00 PM

September 2023

Location: Sonoraville High School
Dates: September 11, 12, 13, 14 & 18, 19, 20, 21
Time: 5:00 PM - 8:45 PM

Program Cost

Total Program Cost: $295

A deposit of $50 and class registration must be completed two weeks prior to the start of the class. 

The remaining balance will be due on the first day of the class.

Click here to make a Driver's Education Online Payment.

Program Grant Scholarship

Gordon County Schools Driver Education Program is a proud authorized provider for the Georgia Driver’s Education Grant Scholarship Program by the Georgia Driver’s Education Commission.

Georgia residents between ages 15-17 actively enrolled in school and possessing a valid driving permit are eligible for the scholarship program. Students who enroll in the program will receive at least 30 hours of classroom training and six hours of behind-the-wheel training.

This scholarship will cover the entire cost of the Gordon County Schools Driver’s Education Course.

*Keep in mind that only around 20% of applicants are approved for the scholarship.

To Apply: Visit GA Driver's Education Scholarship Application and click “Student Login”.

Once approved, you must email the redemption code, a copy of the license, and a completed application to Jo Ann Akins @ JAKINS@GCBE.ORG

*If you are applying for a scholarship, we recommend doing so 60-75 days before the class you are planning to attend.

Student Requirements

Learner's Permit

All students attending the Driver's Education Program are required to have their learner's permit by the start of their first registered class. Find more information about obtaining a learner's permit below:

Georgia DDS: Learner's Permit Information
Georgia DDS Practice Test

Classroom Instruction

When completing the 30 hours of classroom instruction, students are asked to bring the following with them to each class:

  • Paper

  • Pen/Pencil

  • Learner’s Permit

  • Workbook (This will be provided to students at the first class).

Driving Instruction

Students are required to complete 6 hours of driving instruction in order to complete their program. All driving time will be scheduled on an individual basis. This time is subject to availability.